

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 20, 2014 For more information, please contact: Melissa Lee at (989) 272-7209 mlee@sccmha.org

NATIONAL MENTAL HEALTH MONTH CELEBRATED LOCALLY

Saginaw County Community Mental Health Authority honors Consumers and Community Partners at Eleventh Annual Everyday Heroes Banquet

SAGINAW, MI – Saginaw County Community Mental Health Authority (SCCMHA) celebrated its eleventh annual Everyday Heroes Banquet on May 8, 2014 at the HORIZONS Conference Center in conjunction with National Mental Health Month. The banquet honors consumers and their families for successes, personal growth, and participation and leadership skills as well as community volunteers and organizations who contribute to the mission and vision of SCCMHA. More than 30 area individuals and organizations were honored.

Awards were presented in two categories: Everyday Heroes and Special Heroes.

Everyday Heroes honored included Edward Berkobien, Christopher Boykins, Jim Culver, Torrey R. Jackson, Jonathon Mansfield, Charles Porterfield, Lacey Quintel, Tina Searson, Kenneth Skillman, Linda Szymarek, Sarah Tennyson, and Matthew Villarreal.

Special Hero Awards were presented to:

- 1. Agnes Rambo Quality of Life Award to Mary Aldridge and the Slatestone Home
- 2. Bernice Barlow Community Partnership Award to John McKellar, Saginaw County Department of Public Health director
- 3. Improving Practices Champion Award to Heather Beson, SCCMHA Autism Services supervisor

- MORE -

2-2-2 SCCMHA HONORS CONSUMERS AND PARTNERS

- 4. Carolyn Rapson & Ted Rapson Living the American Dream Award to David Benjamin and A&D Home Healthcare
- 5. Eileen & Lou Vescio Leadership, Advocacy and Family Support Award to the Honorable Judge A.T. Frank for his work with the Saginaw County Mental Health Court

Other Special Hero Awards were presented to Laurie Breece; Brian Briggs; Friends for Recovery Center Board – Lee Berkobien, Brian Johnson, David McFarland, Debora Nagel, Lisa Sawyer, Cecilia Thomas, and John Vance; Lt. David Kendziorski; Wayne McDonald; Matt Miller; Sue Quaderer; and Vurlia Wheeler.

"These recipients have inspired us to live well despite life's adversities. They have been leaders in changing the way help is provided to those with mental illness. They are advocates, consumers, providers and community partners who are paving the way for a brighter future," says Sandra Lindsey, CEO of SCCMHA. "They are heroes that go above and beyond and they are all around us, every day."

According to the National Mental Health Association, one in five Americans experience a mental health disorder in any given year. Less than eight million seek treatment. For more than 50 years, *May is Mental Health Month* has been observed to raise awareness of mental health issues and importance.

###

Saginaw County Community Mental Health Authority is headquartered at 500 Hancock Street in Saginaw. SCCMHA provides numerous services including evaluations, screenings, treatments and referrals. SCCMHA assists approximately 5,000 Saginaw County citizens each year.